What Defines Kosher Food?

Kosher food in skewers

Whether you’re eating or cooking Jewish food, there is a story to tell. You see, Jewish food spans the globe as influences from Africa, Middle East, and Eastern Europe take over the sweet aroma and tastes of their dishes. Whichever region you happen to be in, there’s a story there. To many, it’s more than just a dish; They’re delicacies passed down from many generations as it’s filled with symbolism and history.

Today, it’s open to new influences as it continues to grow.

In Simple Forms, Jewish Food is Kosher

Fundamentally speaking, all Jewish food has to be kosher. The way it’s observed can vary, but the dietary rules have to adhere to the Jewish laws. All kosher laws are observed throughout the year with more emphasis during Passover.

The following are some details of the kosher laws:

  • Animals that chews its cud and has cloven hooves are consumable. This means that sheep, cattle, deer, goats, and bison are kosher. However, rabbits and pigs are not. Under kosher laws, poultry like ducks, chicken, and turkey can be consumed. When you want to practice the kosher law, only buy meat that has the kosher label on it.
  • People may consume fish as long as they have scales that are easily removable. Fishes like carp, tuna, snapper, bass, cod, trout, and salmon pass the law.
  • Vegetables and fruits are kosher.
  • When cooking meat or poultry, it cannot be mixed with dairy.
  • Neutral foods are the following: vegetables, fruits, grains, eggs, and fish.
  • When using utensils, they can’t touch dairy or vise versa when eating non-dairy meals.