The Kosher Food Breakdown

kosher legumes

We all know that when you hear kosher food, you’re probably thinking, ‘what is that?!’ Then you start to wonder how on Earth anyone can following something so religiously, that you might think that it’s a pretty difficult task to do. Fear not, we’ve broken down a few kosher basics for you so that you can understand what it is!

Kosher is actually divided in meat, pareve, and dairy. Kashrut is the basic principle of it which is the separation of both meat and dairy. This means that kosher food should not be consumed or cooked with dairy and meat together. In many cases, the separation of utensils, and preparation areas for such categories are assigned to maintain its partition. On the other hand, pareve is food that include neither dairy or meat.

Dairy

We’re talking about butter, yogurt, milk, cheese and anything soft, hard and creamy. Even with the smallest amount of dairy in food are considered to be dairy. That being said, they all require kosher certification all of which has to meet a certain criteria.

  • They have to be derived from a kosher animal.
  • Absolutely no meat-derivatives.
  • Must be prepared and processed on equipment that is kosher.

Kosher Meat

This means poultry, meat and their byproducts like gravy, bones, and soup. They all have to come from kosher processing and this means examined and slaughtered. 

Pareve

This falls under fish, eggs, grains, vegetables, and juices. When they are unprocessed they maintain the state of pareve. Other food that are considered to be pareve are soft drinks, coffee, pasta, and tea. There are also many types of snacks that could fall into this category.